Protected Characteristics

We believe that ANY young person from ANY background deserves an EQUAL chance to be successful in whatever they choose to do. We believe that children should be aware of the protected characteristics and show respect to those who share the protected characteristics.

There are 9 protected characteristics under the Equality Act 2010 and all schools should be able to demonstrate that no form of discrimination is tolerated and respect is shown to everyone.

The 9 Protected Characteristics are

At Highcliffe, we ensure that our children are given opportunities to develop age-appropriate knowledge and understanding through a well-planned and delivered curriculum. 

We also celebrate different key events such as,

  • World Mental Health Day
  • Black History Month
  • Interfaith Week
  • International Human Rights Day
  • LGBTQ+ History Month
  • Easter
  • International Women’s Day
  • Autism Awareness Month
  • Religious Festivals and Celebrations
  • Diabetes Week
  • Pride month

We believe that this prepares our children to protected themselves and others to be protected. This ensures that we are always promoting equality and diversity in our school.